By ajnegus
Hello everyone

I apologise if this question has already been asked a million times but I can't seem to find the right answer.

I'm just starting out in trying to learn upholstery with the eventual aim of re-trimming a set of Recaro seats. I didn't want to invest too much money to begin with in case I was no good at trimming so I decided to start off with a heavy duty domestic machine. I bought myself a Singer 4432 and began to practice using vinyl and hoped to work my way up to using leather at a later date once I'd got my skills honed and my patterns correct.

My first efforts were ok considering I'd never even touched a sewing machine before but I am having some problems which mostly seem to be due to the sewing machine. It copes fine with physically sewing the vinyl but I find that the machine is too fast to allow good control and precision, I think it runs at something like 1100 spm. I have also found that there is not enough space under the presser foot to be able to sew the top stitching on French seams and as a result the stitches get bunched up and uneven and I get a lot of jams. I bought a voltage controller to try to slow the machine down but its still too fast and I bought a walking foot to try to help the materials feed through better but its now pretty obvious that my machine isn't suitable for what I want to do. I therefore wondered if anyone could give me some advice on the best type of machine for the job.

Here is a picture of my first attempt at a bolster, I know the top stitching is awful but that's due to the problems mentioned above, the machine runs too fast and is very difficult to control and get it to go in a straight line and the machine doesn't cope well with thick materials and can't pull them through easily. I also need to make a few adjustments to my pattern and to remove some material from the seam on the reverse side to follow the curves better, its my first attempt so it was bound to be less than good.
P4291490.JPG