By BlueOvalKid
I'm new to trying my hand at auto upholstery. I have a chance to buy 5 machines but have only seen pictures. Can anyone tell me what each machine is and whether it would be useful to auto/boat upholstery?

By souperdoo
Out of that lot, I think the Chandler would be the one you would want. It looks like an Adler/Chandler 167. That would be a compound feed machine suitable (puddle-wonderful, actually) for upholstery work. It will have a vertical-axis bobbin that is quite large, a decided advantage when working with heavy thread.

The Singer is a fast garment machine and not what you'd find useful unless, perhaps, you'd be sewing a lot of mouse fur headliners or had a side business hemming dress pants.

The Brother overlock and the US blindstitcher haven't any use in upholstery.

I am not sure what the fourth machine is. It looks like a bar tacker, but which one I don't know. Regardless, not much call for it in upholstery work.

All of those machines appear to be in remarkable condition.
Adam12 liked this
By souperdoo
I could not begin to give an authoritative number on the lot from the pictures. The best I can do is give you a rough-order-of-magnitude opinion. That opinion is based on what I have seen going on in my area. There used to be a lot of textile around here so machines are plentiful, though most have been used really hard.

Your best bet for getting good numbers on the lot is to look at your local FB marketplace, Offerup, Craigslist, sewing machine shops, etc to get an idea of what similar machines are going for in your area. By looking at the age of ads you might even be able to get some idea of how hard it is to sell stuff off.