Probably most people on this forum are either in the business or are thinking about making sewing a business. I have some experience under my belt from doing work for myself, a few friends and even a handfull of paid jobs. I tell the paying customers that I am just getting started and the final result may not be perfect, but for the moment I have been pretty cheap. No one so far has been unpleased with the work I have done for them.

I am a bit old school with regard to what one can do or not do as a professional. I am guessing the folks who sew for a factory probably have many years of experience at 8-10 hours a day 5-6 days a week. There is no substitue for time behind the machine. You can't get there in a month.

On the other hand, I have looked online at some of the competition who sells their service. I see bunches and wrinkles in their online pics. One would think the pics for online advertising would be their best work. So, maybe my work isn't lagging as far in reality as it does in my mind. My exectation is a show room equilivent.

Anyway, give me your thoughts.
Cale liked this
@victric,

I am training in Upholstery so that I may blend this into my existing business. My practice comes in bits and spurts when I can and have come to realize that it is going to take a lot of years to present the show quality work I desire. If somebody want something done that I think I can do I will do it but am not guaranteeing it will look like a piece done by a professional. I am really concerned that my stitching does not fall apart or the foam does not collapse at this point. Just keep practicing and it will come!
vicstric liked this
Thats a great question! difficult to answer also Haha. I don't think you will ever feel truly ready. You just have to do it. When I started doing work for customers I still had a lot to learn.