General discussions about our craft and industry.
By RyanFreeborn
I'm fairly new to the upholstery trade and am only doing basic panel replacements and foam rebuilds for automotive seats with a little marine and furniture here and there. I've been hesitant to do any panel replacements in cars with airbags in the bolster of the backrest, not because of no confidence, but because I've heard they use a certain type of airbag thread from the factory that people in our trade cant get. Does anybody have any experience with this?
By BigRig
This is a great question!

I have seen the airbags in the back of the seats and was going to ask this question myself. I recovered in vinyl and would think the force of the air bag going off would rip the stitches right through the vinyl.

This is a very important question to be answered.There may be liabilities for soft tissue injury/death if a airbag malfunctioned due to my customization of a seat.
By RyanFreeborn
Thanks BigRig. The possibility of injury/death has been my worry too. I've talked to my insurance company and they've told me to have my customers sign a waiver, but I still am leary of doing them. Just wanted to know if anybody else does these, and if so, where can we get the proper thread for it?
By John
Hi @RyanFreeborn Welcome to the forum!

So this has been a topic Ive been following pretty closely. The problem is that Automotive manufactures refuse to release any information or training on the seam construction methods used on airbag seats. The manufactures say to buy new covers from the dealer. But we all know that doesn't solve the problem. Especially when they stop making covers for older cars.